The Eighth International Jurgenson Competition for Young Composers

15 February 2015 - 02 June 2015 |

The Eighth International Jurgenson Competition for Young Composers

129 scores from 35 countries have been sent to the Competition. 125 scores that meet all the announced terms have been admitted to participate in the First Round.

The jury, which consists of Vladimir Tarnopolsky (as the chairman), Igor Dronov, Faraj Garayev, Mark Pekarsky and Alexander Vustin, has selected the following seven scores to participate in the Second Round:

The Nomination “A Piece for an Ensemble of Soloists”

Maxim Babintsev (Russia). L’assurditá e la veritá
Juan José Bárcenas Cardona (Mexico). Le Jaseroque
Mauro Soleri (Italy). Nel verde di gelidi abissi

The Nomination “A Piece for String Quartet or String Trio”

Lim Chanhee (South Korea / Germany). Außen beleuchten, erleuchten innen (für Streichtrio)
Juan Santiago Villalba (the Argentine). Epifrasis

The Nomination “A Piece for Percussion Ensemble”

Elena Sažikova (Turkmenistan / Russia). Jam
Erika Vega (Belgium). The Parachute Ride


Dmitry Burtsev (Russia). The Shadows of Diverging Lines
Olga Ozyorskaya (Russia). The Milky Way
Hibiki Mukai (Japan). Tearing apart Those Wings II
Juan José Bárcenas Cardona (Mexico). Le Vol d’Icare

* The awardees’ pieces do not participate in the further competition.

The Second Round of the Competition will be a rehearsal of the finalists’ pieces to take place on 2 June 2015, 12:00 PM, at the Rachmaninoff Hall.

Both the awarding ceremony and the gala concert of the Competition laureates will take place on the same evening, on 2 June 2015, 7:00 PM, at the Rachmaninoff Hall. The performers are: the Ensemble of Soloists New Music Studio and Mark Pekarsky’s Percussion Ensemble.

The Eighth International Jurgenson Competition for Young Composers has been organized by Tchaikovsky Moscow State Conservatory, the Centre for Contemporary Music (Moscow) and the Jurgenson Charity Foundation.

Open to: composers born after 15 February 1979.

The competition invites submissions in the following nominations:

  • a composition either for an ensemble of soloists or for voice and an ensemble of soloists (from 6 to 16 musicians inclusive);
  • a composition either for a string trio or for a string quartet;
  • a composition either for marimba solo or for a percussion ensemble (6 musicians maximum).

Duration: 15 minutes maximum.

The ensemble of soloists includes: 1 flute (alternating with either a piccolo or an alto flute), 1 oboe (alternating with an English Horn), 1 clarinet (alternating with a bass clarinet), 1 bassoon, 1 French Horn, 1 trumpet, 1 trombone, percussions (2 musicians), 1 piano, 1 harp, 2 violins, 1 viola, 1 cello, and 1 double-bass.

Instruments in scores for percussion ensemble must be grouped by performers.

The competition will only accept compositions that are unpublished and have not been performed publicly. Every applicant may submit compositions in two nominations maximum. No first-prize laureates of any previous seven Jurgenson Competitions may participate.

The Organizing Committee of the Competition may reject any application if it does not comply with its Regulations. The Competition Jury may: award special prizes, divide the prizes between several participants, award not all of the prizes and/or diplomas, as well as may withhold from awarding the Grand Prix. No member of the Jury who is or has ever been a competitor’s teacher may take part in the assessment of his/her composition(s).

No entrance fee is charged.

The Jury:

Prof. Vladimir Tarnopolsky, a composer (Russia); Chairman
Prof. Igor Dronov, Honored Artist of Russia, a conductor (Russia)
Prof. Faraj Gara oglu Garayev, a composer (Russia)
Prof. Mark Pekarsky, Honored Artist of Russia, a percussionist (Russia)
Mr. Alexander Vustin, a composer (Russia)

The Awards:

  • Grand Prix in the amount of 100,000 rubles;
  • First Prize in the amount of 50,000 rubles (per each nomination).

The laureates will pass the rights to publish their winning compositions to the Jurgenson Foundation.

The competition will have two rounds. Ten participants will be admitted to the Second Round upon results of selection of the scores. The prizes will be allotted upon completion of the Second Round according to the results of listening to the compositions at the dress rehearsal open for public. Pieces of the finalists will be performed by the Ensemble of Soloists of the Moscow Conservatory’s New Music Studio and by Mark Pekarsky’s Percussion Ensemble on June 10, 2015 at the Rachmaninoff Hall.

Participation in the competition is anonymous. Each participant must submit:

  • 2 printed copies of the score with the author’s password on the title page (neither applicant’s name nor any other personal data shall be revealed);
  • the filled-out application form (upload the PDF file);
  • 2 photos of the applicant (of any kind) with the password on the reverse side.

The photographs, the scores and the applications will be accepted either personally or by registered mail postmarked not later than February 15, 2015. The participants admitted to the Second Round shall be obligated to submit the parts for the soloists not later than May 1, 2015.

The application package, marked “To the Organizing Committee of the International Jurgenson Competition for Young Composers,” should be submitted to the following address:

Tchaikovsky Moscow State Conservatory
Centre for Contemporary Music

13/6 Bolshaya Nikitskaya ulitsa, Office 316
Moscow, 125009 Russia
Tel./fax +7 (495) 690 51 81,

Moscow Publishing House ‘P. Jurgenson’
Tel.: +7 (495) 650 29 80, attn.: Boris Jurgenson

About the Competition

The Competition is named after Peter Johan Jurgenson, the largest music publisher in pre-revolutionary Russia. The Competition is held in order to reveal and support talented young musicians, as well as to stimulate their creative activity. The Competition makes the widest circle of music fans, both in Russia and abroad, get familiarized with the pieces of its laureates by way of publishing and recording them.

The Competition is held every other year. A maximum of ten composers shall be admitted to participate in the Second Round upon results of a selection of the scores. The awards shall be allotted after the Second Round, upon results of the listening to the pieces during their dress rehearsal. Pieces of the Competition laureates will be published by the P. J. Jurgenson Foundation in a series Music of the Third Millennium.